Week 10 vs. Bills – Starting to turn it around?

steelersvsbills

The first thing I would like to cover is the trade rumors that started to surface before the game against Buffalo. Some reports were saying that Ben Roethlisberger was looking to be traded at some point this season or at some point in the off season. These rumors are completely false.

Here is a quote from Ben regarding the issue:

“I don’t know where that came from,” he said. “It is one of the most (untrue) stories that I’ve ever heard of. I’ve always said that I want to be a Steeler for life. I love it here. I’m happy here.”

Big Ben went on to say:

“I’m a Pittsburgher,” Roethlisberger said. “I’ve told people that. I’m so proud to raise my kids here. I want to finish my career here, however long that is. I don’t want to play for anybody else. This is it for me.”

These sentiments were echoed by the rest of the Steelers team and front office prior to the Week 10 game.

The Black and Gold played a solid game against the Bills. The defense seemed to wake up after being abused by the Patriots last week. They managed to throw enough confusing looks at Buffalo’s rookie QB to suppress his offensive capabilities.

Roethlisberger looked to be in good form during the game. He threw for over 200 yards, but still had one interception. These turnovers need to stop if they want to make a late playoff push this year. Rookie running back Le’Veon Bell continues to show signs of becoming a truly great NFL RB. He had almost 100 total yards and a touchdown against the Bills. He has the speed and quickness needed to be a star in the league.

The Steelers had the game in hand from the second quarter on. They easily won 23-10.

Now to preview Week 11’s game…

The Detroit Lions will be coming to Pittsburgh on Sunday. They bring with them a young and talented QB in Matthew Stafford, a physical freak of nature in WR Calvin Johnson (aka Megatron), and a nasty defensive line that is eager to exploit the weaknesses in the Steelers offensive line.

The Steelers are in last place in the AFC North Divison at 3-6. They need to pull off this win at home vs. Detroit. To do this, they’ll need to protect Ben, open holes for the running game, and find a way to stop the Stafford/Johnson combo from passing for 300+ yards. None of which will be easy. Good thing Pittsburgh will be wearing the infamous “bumblebee” throwback jerseys on Sunday (pictured below). Maybe it will distract the Lions enough to help us get the win!

steelersthrowback

Leave a comment